First Place for the English Lake District and Cumbria

Home > About Cumbria
Wastwater About Cumbria

Enlarge Map!
© Andy Stephenson
Map of
United Kingdom

© Paul Taylor



Cumbria is a county in North West England, United Kingdom and consists of six districts, Allerdale, Barrow-in-Furness, Carlisle, Copeland, Eden and South Lakeland.

A predominantly rural county, Cumbria contains the Lake District and Lake District National Park, considered one of the most beautiful areas of England.

Much of the county is mountainous, with the highest point of the county (and of England) being Scafell Pike at 978 metres (3,209 ft). All the mountains in England that are over 900 metres (3,000 ft) above sea level are in Cumbria.

From 16 sparkling lakes and England’s highest mountains, to sheltered valleys, heather moorlands and salty seascapes, Cumbria and the Lake District have inspired and captivated generations of visitors and famous writers and poets such as William Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter.

But there’s more to see than just scenery. The area has a rich heritage to discover, a vibrant and contemporary cultural scene, and a growing reputation for fine food and drink.

On top of all this, there is a huge choice of tourist activities in some of the greatest Great Outdoors in the world.

The unique landscape that inspired Wordsworth and Beatrix Potter today nurtures a new generation of writers, artists and musicians. Sculpture trails, poetry programmes, street art and theatre add up to a thriving cultural scene.

The area has a fascinating heritage, too. In stone circles and Roman forts, in historic houses and museums, the past still echoes.

From microbreweries and Michelin-starred restaurants to cosy cafés and farmers markets, Cumbria and the Lake District is fast becoming a food lover’s paradise.

Whether it’s the simplest loaf or the most sumptuous delicacy, you’ll find food and drink produced and prepared by people who are passionate about quality. 


Hawkshead © Peter Trimming


Getting There

Cumbria can be reached by road and rail.

The M6 Motorway travels north through the centre of Cumbria – junction 36 near Kendal, junction 40 at Penrith and Junctions 42-44 at Carlisle.

Carlisle is a major railway junction on the West Coast Line from London Euston to Glasgow which also has stations at Penrith and Oxenholme (for Kendal and Windermere).

Carlisle is also served by lines from Dumfries, Newcastle and Leeds.

Map of Cumbria 
Cumbria Map
Maps of United Kingdom and Cumbria
Courtesy of
'Visit us for more maps'


Home  |  About Us  Contact Us  |  Copyright  |  Privacy  |  Site Map  |  Suggest a Site  Terms of Use

Copyright © UK RENTANET.  All Rights Reserved by Copyright Holders.
Use of this website constitutes acceptance of the Lakes and Cumbria Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.